TOPIC: restoration project make/mode/year unknown

restoration project make/mode/year unknown 2 years 5 months ago #145675

• Fatlenny
  • Fatlenny's Avatar Topic Author
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 17
Hello all, fairly new member here.

I purchased this 14 foot boat for a project the end of this summer and wanted to share my experiences here and hope to get any feed back as I am new to the boating world all together, and hoping that someone can help me identify the make and year of this project.

I purchased this boat on a whim when I recently took a small vacation with my wife and rekindled my love for fishing and was actually looking for a fishing boat. I couldn't seem to turn down the price of $500 when the outboard motor (1971 Johnson 50) seemed in such good condition mechanically.

After discovering issues with incorrect ignition wiring and a problem with a broken shift switch in the remote (temp fix was using a 3 way toggle switch to shift, NOT SAFE, I KNOW) We was able to take it out 3 times this season for testing. She runs great. She seems to sit a bit low in the water and heavy due to waterlogged materials under floor but all in all seems like it will be a fun little boat.

I have looked for many hours at images of similar boats but cant seem to find any thing that is a match for what I have. The HIN number has not yet been found on it yet. I hope to find something stripping off the paint the previous owner has added to all of this boat and hope it was not sanded down or was on a plate that was removed. I have found images of the sale of this boat but make model and year is still unknown. first pic is from one of them I have found on line from a previous listing. seems this boat has gone to auction and i got it from a dealer who purchased it for a project that he decided against and sold as is.