Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Monkey Ward Sea King Project and Questions

Monkey Ward Sea King Project and Questions 2 years 7 months ago #145207

Hey, folks! First post on the forums. We have a (year unknown) Montgomery Ward Sea King boat sitting in the back of one of our properties. I'm strongly considering restoring it - more out of sentiment and a love of vintage things than anything else. I found this forum while researching different topics so I thought I'd post and collect some thoughts from anyone willing to share.

I think the pictures tell most of the story so I'll keep the text brief. By way of background on me, I have nearly 30 years of experience rebuilding and restoring cars and motorcycles. I grew up on the water in both Florida and New Hampshire so boats in general are not new to me but some of the specifics of hull design and construction ARE new to me.

This boat has been sitting in this spot for about ten years. The hull appears to be solid except for one possible soft spot on the port side near the bow where the keel line sits on the rubber riders on the trailer (visible in the pictures). Outboard is junk without many hours and many $$$ of work so I'm not interested in doing anything with it right now. Maybe a project for a later time, we'll see....

The trailer is the original Sea King-branded trailer. A faded Sea King name plate can be seen on the left fender. I work far better with metal than I do with wood/fiberglass so I'm actually looking forward to restoring the trailer.