Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Brand New/Old Merc 1000

Brand New/Old Merc 1000 10 years 5 months ago #92953

I just purchased a 1961 Crestliner Explorer with a '62-63' Merc 1000 on it. I got the motor running on Saturday but it puking oil from the shift rod on the lower unit. When I changed the lower unit oil it had water that had separated out in it. Should I change all the seals or just the ones that appear to be leaking? I am a novice mechanic who isn't afraid to get his hands dirty. How hard can this be if I get parts from a local marine store or should I spend the $$$$ in labor to have the work done.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Brand New/Old Merc 1000 10 years 5 months ago #92955

Just taking it to someone is easier said then done. A lot of people won't work on the old mercs. I'm sure with some help from the more experienced guys here you can do it.

Re:Brand New/Old Merc 1000 10 years 5 months ago #92956

There is a local shop that will work on Merc's. They have been very helpful and even stock the parts I need. Labor was a little pricey for the water pump replacement I had done right after I bought it. Parts are not bad, labor is the killer. Just don't want to get in over my head with tearing apart a lower unit before I even get the boat wet this year.

On a scale of 1-10 what is the difficulty for replacing oil seal, o-ring and bushing as long as the shift shaft is in good shape?

Re:Brand New/Old Merc 1000 10 years 5 months ago #92970

The job is not particularly difficult if you have the special tools to take the lower unit apart and the manual as a guide. The tools to strip the lower are available for a few hundred and the Merc manual will cost about $80 or so. Money well spent. Difficulty is about a 7 for the first time novice.

Re:Brand New/Old Merc 1000 10 years 5 months ago #93240