Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1969/1970 Mercury 800 voltage drop

1969/1970 Mercury 800 voltage drop 11 years 1 month ago #82073

Greetings,
I just got a 1962 MFG Westfield with a 1969/1970 Mercury 800. The motor won't start and I was hoping it was something simple but I'm beginning to have doubts. I've never worked on outboards before but I have worked on motorcycles and cars.

Here is what's going on: turn the key to start, nothing happens, starter doesn't engage, no clicks, etc. While in the off position, when I check the engine voltage off the solenoid and switch box red terminal it reads 12 volts. While in the run position, the solenoid, switch box red terminal and white terminal all read 6 volts. I am thinking the switch box is shot..any thoughts? Thanks.

FYI, motor s/n is 2665614

P.s. in case anyone stumbles across it, I have a similiar thread open on another website's forum. Don't think I'm spamming, just trying to get my problem resolved quickly. Thanks again for any advice!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: 1969/1970 Mercury 800 voltage drop 11 years 1 month ago #82079

have you tried turning the engine over by hand ?
if that goes well I would try using the pull rope to stat it up . not a cure to your problem, but at least it might narrow down the issue

Re: 1969/1970 Mercury 800 voltage drop 11 years 1 month ago #82081

Thanks for the reply. The motor seemed pretty difficult to start by hand. I temporarily connected the starter to an alternate power source and it spun the motor but I had no spark (key was in the run position.)

Re:1969/1970 Mercury 800 voltage drop 11 years 1 month ago #82083

Dont sweat it, your in the right place. The real "BRAINS" on this site will no doubt provide you with the correct course of action soon enough !! Good luck !

Re:1969/1970 Mercury 800 voltage drop 11 years 1 month ago #82107