• Page:

TOPIC: Voltage Regulator for Merc 500 Thuderbolt

Voltage Regulator for Merc 500 Thuderbolt 11 years 1 month ago #81477

• eicoguy
  • eicoguy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Has anyone retrofitted a voltage regulator to a 1967 Merc 500 Thunderbolt, or similar? I find it pretty disconcerting to cruise around with the voltage regulator reading 17-18 Volts. I'm using a Marine Starting battery (not a deep cycle) and so far no problems, but I'm new to this and I've only got a few hours experience with it. How did they get away with the 'no regulator' design back then? Obviously it worked well enough that didn't think it was a necessary part to put on the motor, but what was the downside? Maybe they just replaced the cooked battery every year?

Thanks for any advice on this,
Bill

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Voltage Regulator for Merc 500 Thuderbolt 11 years 1 month ago #81493

they got away with it because it only puts out about 3 amps.

Re: Voltage Regulator for Merc 500 Thuderbolt 11 years 1 month ago #81503

if you are worried about it put on the running lights or radio etc.

Re: Voltage Regulator for Merc 500 Thuderbolt 11 years 1 month ago #81506

• eicoguy
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
Actually that is what I did - turned on the lights. I thought maybe someone had worked through this and knew of a regulator retrofit that would work. I'll measure current output and research it a bit, but no sense in going too far into the issue as it obviously has not been a big problem.

Re:Voltage Regulator for Merc 500 Thuderbolt 11 years 1 month ago #81514

• MarkS
  • Thank you received: 5