Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: freshening a stored Mercury 1150

freshening a stored Mercury 1150 11 years 8 months ago #73876

I am looking for some advise on freshening up a 78 mercury 1150 outboard that has been in storage since 95. The gentlemen said he fogged it and drained the carbs. It is free. I haven't touched it yet but I see the wires to the coils need to be replaced, not a big deal. Wondering about carbs, reeds, water pump etc. Anyone got some pointers for me. I am a street rodder and this is my first attempt at restoring a boat. The boat is a 76 Ebkraft (Ebko) Stinger. I would like to find a manual for the motor as well if you know where i can find one. A recomendation for a prop would help too. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:freshening a stored Mercury 1150 11 years 8 months ago #73877

• dpanky
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I have owned two Mercury 115 HP motors. This is what I would do to get it running well:
Change the fuel diaphram and check valves
Change the rubber fuel lines inside the engine
New fuel lines and baynets (ends of the fuel lines) from
the fuel tank to the engine (if you have portable tanks)
New water impeller
New lower unit grease
Grease motor fittings
Sea foam in gas tank several times
Mercury Power Tune through the carbs and in the combustion
chamber with the spark plugs out
New spark plugs - NGK BUHL
Touch up the chipped paint by dipping an artist's brush into
Mercury paint sprayed into the paint cap and dab on spot

As for a prop, how heavy is the boat? If speed is not a factor, a Quicksilver Black Mac aluminum, if speed, a Laser II stainless steel or a Ballistic SS

Use Mercury Premium Plus oil and high octane gas
Attachments:

Re:freshening a stored Mercury 1150 11 years 8 months ago #73899

• tim_c
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder