• Page:

TOPIC: Prop questions

Prop questions 12 years 2 weeks ago #69434

• Normspeed
  • Normspeed's Avatar Topic Author
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
Can anyone recommend a decent prop repair shop? Preferably one that's online. My 650 has an old aluminum 3 blade with a couple large bites out of the blades. I think it can be fixed, but need to ship it to a shop since I live 2.5 miles from the middle of nowhere.

Also, this is a 1964 model and has the old style square shoulder on the thrust hub. My manual says to run a later model prop and thrust hub I should use spacer # C-23-86918. So, looking for a source for that spacer, or for an early model prop, so I can carry a spare. Any suggestions?

Numbers on my prop are MM1265/489W/48-65748A1 17P

Thanks...Norm

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Prop questions 12 years 2 weeks ago #69450

Hi Norm,
I have a 1963 850... which shares the lower and mid with a '64 650. I am no pro, but I've tested a ton of props in the last year. The BEST aluminum prop that I tested was the Quicksilver Black Max prop QA2036X at about $89 new. Though these require the Flo-Torque II interchangable hub (adds about $35 to the purchase). I am telling you this because the cost of fixing an old prop (plus 2-way shipping to the middle of nowhere) might be a good part of getting a really good 17P prop... it held its grip good (even with lots of trim) and gave me 49 mph on my G3... I've since bought a 19P and 21P of the same family... that 17P will be my water skiing prop.

Around here in the NW, a reputable prop shop is "The Prop Shop" www.propshopltd.com/

Dean

Bandit - 1959 Glasspar G3
See more G3s at www.g3owners.com

Re: Prop questions 12 years 2 weeks ago #69470

• Normspeed
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
Wow, great info, thanks. So the Flo-Torque II interchangeable hub allows the modern prop to bolt up to the 64 lower unit OK?