• Page:

TOPIC: Decision on lower unit 1970 Mercury 200 20HP

Decision on lower unit 1970 Mercury 200 20HP 12 years 5 months ago #59259

• DaddyE
  • DaddyE's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
1970 Mercury 200 (20HP). Runs fine... but I bent the prop shaft and a 1 inch piece of the lower unit lip around the prop broke off. Doesn't look like it would affect anything but I'm no motor expert. I have to get the shaft straightened for sure.

I HAVE 2 OPTIONS:

OPTION ONE) Take it to a reliable prop repair shop which will straighten the shaft for $165 right on the boat. Sounds risky but it's Nettles Props here in Austin and they are the best. I have no question on their ability to do it right and in a safe manner.

OPTION TWO) Take it to the local certified Mercury repairman. He has 2 used lower units like mine with straight prop shafts and check-out on holding lower unit oil. The used LU is $250 and said it would be about an hour to replace mine and swap out my brand new impeller with the new (used) lower unit. Total price is about $350.

The advantage with number 2 is I get to see how to replace the impeller so I can do it myself in the future. Any thoughts? I'm a little tight on cash so the extra money (option 2) better be worth the money. Is a piece of the lower unit housing being chipped off a big deal? Thanks!!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Decision on lower unit 1970 Mercury 200 20HP 12 years 5 months ago #59268

Why not just take the shaft out and replace or straighten it? Doing it on the boat is asking for it, and a good shop could replace the shaft in 20 minuits.

Re:Decision on lower unit 1970 Mercury 200 20HP 12 years 5 months ago #59269

• DaddyE
  • DaddyE's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0