Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1965 Mercury 650 problem

1965 Mercury 650 problem 12 years 8 months ago #54411

Hey Guys
Newbie here. I've got a 1965 Merc 4 cylinder 650. She's well taken care of but I have a miss or sputter at idle or very low throttle. When I open it up she sounds and performs great. I've also noticed when I run her with muffs, she won't do it. Only in the water will this happen. I can't figure it out. It actually stalled out on me approaching the dock. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
Also what prop should I be using? I have an old 2 blade speed prop on there now, but would like better performance out of it.
I'm very happy I found these forums, as I have recently become an old boat junkie. Thanks much in advance...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1965 Mercury 650 problem 12 years 8 months ago #54417

Welcome aboard! This a great forum for everything Old Merc's.

Can we get a little more background on your motor? Is she new to you? Or you've had her for some time and this is a new issue. Also, have you ever been through the tune up process (cleaning /setting points, adjusting pick ups etc)?

Re:1965 Mercury 650 problem 12 years 8 months ago #54424

New to me. I just recently changed plugs, impeller gear case oil, etc. I was under the impression you needed a special tool to pull the distributer and unthread the plug wires. I did noticed a nicked plug wire that had electrical tape wrapped around it. I noticed this checking compression, which was 130 even on all cylinders. All wiring is in excellent condition except for the nicked plug wire.
How hard is it to change/ check points and change the plug wires? Will these cost an arm and a leg? Do you think that may be the problem?
Thanks in advance-

Re:1965 Mercury 650 problem 12 years 8 months ago #54425