Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: I need help...... 1969 merc 1000 ran great til i

I need help...... 1969 merc 1000 ran great til i 13 years 2 weeks ago #34667

Ok my friend Phillip got this yesterday and it's been setting up at least 4 years. New battery fresh fuel and with water ears. It started up relatively easy but the ignition switch was trashed. So we put a new one on and once again it started right up. With it running I pulled the positive cable off to see if it was charging and it died. Put it back on it fired right up. Tried it again ...the same thing only now it will not start. Acts like it's not trying til I let off the switch then a short sputter. Please help. I'm not a boat mechanic but I fix cars a lot and he's neither. Not sure if it may have hurt something in the ignition system.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: I need help...... 1969 merc 1000 ran great til i 13 years 2 weeks ago #34668

Why would you pull the cable off to see if it is charging ??????
Use a volt meter next time.

Re: I need help...... 1969 merc 1000 ran great til i 13 years 2 weeks ago #34670

• g3jim
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
sorry but I am speechless. No comment

Re:I need help...... 1969 merc 1000 ran great til i 13 years 2 weeks ago #34673

Well 40 year old boat engines are not my thing.....if a car doesn't charge pulling the cable will tell you instantly. That's why I am asking people here. I am a member on a few car boards and we all help each other out INCLUDING new guys and are very happy to do it. Don't get me wrong we usually have a few guys that are jerks with only smart remarks. But everyone learns who they are very fast and we just ignore them. That is until they need help and then we even help them....
.go figure.

Now back to the problem at hand. Are there any members her that have valuable information or input?