• Page:

TOPIC: Flywheel puller?

Flywheel puller? 13 years 3 months ago #33308

• jim18611865
  • jim18611865's Avatar Topic Author
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 0
Where can I buy an appropiate puller for a 71' 7.5 HP?
Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Flywheel puller? 13 years 3 months ago #33358

Well,...Since no one has responded with a lead to where to purchase a flywheel puller for the lil Merc 7.5,...I will explain how I remove the flywheel.
Granted I will probably get chastised for suggesting such tactics,...But it is how I've been doing it for 50+ years without damaging anything.
I loosen the flywheel nut, backing it off until the top of the nut is flush with the top of the crankshaft's threads.
Then I have a pal armed with a 'Wonder Bar' (fancy term for a crow-bar) locate a place on the top of the engine block that he can use to pry off and put the end of the pry tool under the outer edge of the flywheel (be careful not to put the end of the tool under too far or it will be prying up on the magneto plate - not the flywheel)
Also being careful when choosing the point on the engine block to pry on so you won't be prying on some sort of small aluminum casting, etc that will easily break off when the pry is applied.
Now,...With your pal on the pry tool and ready to apply a firm steady pry designed to lift the flywheel when he sees you swing your hammer,...You put a brass bunyan or other soft metal type item on top of the flywheel nut and give it a stout smack straight down with your hammer.
If your pal is prying at the right time and your smack with the hammer is stout enough,...The flywheel will pop loose.
Then remove the nut and lift off the flywheel - keeping a close eye on the key in the side of the crankshaft's tapered area as it likes to fall out and hide.