Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: resurrecting a '73 650 3 cyl

resurrecting a '73 650 3 cyl 13 years 2 months ago #28951

I just bought a Custom Craft that has a '73 Merc 650 on it - working on bringing her back up to speed. I'm a little skeptical of Merc having had bad experience in the past, but this one has been good thus far. I'm not an outboard expert but I'm not afraid of turning wrenches.

When I got it, the powerhead was locked up and the lower is stuck in gear - I got the powerhead freed up, cleaned carbs a bit, cleaned up the starter and she fired right up.

The lower is giving me trouble - I've opened it up, and the shift linkage appears to operate freely, but the ratcheting clutch is seized to the shaft, and I can't get the driveshaft out of the housing so I can pull the prop shaft out and clean it up.

Is there some secret to removing the drive shaft? I have the lower stripped to the point I can see the upper bearing, and it will rise maybe 3/8" up out of the seat, but that's it.

A few pictures. I am thinking the driveshaft needs replacement, or can I run it with the pitting?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:resurrecting a '73 650 3 cyl 13 years 2 months ago #28965

• Oceans2
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 0
You need to remove the nut that you see to the right in the last photo in order to remove the drive shaft.

Melanie

Attachments:

Re:resurrecting a '73 650 3 cyl 13 years 2 months ago #28968

Oceans2 wrote:

You need to remove the nut that you see to the right in the last photo in order to remove the drive shaft.

Melanie

Once I remove the nut, I assume the gear can be dropped out and removed though the prop housing? Seems easy enough.

Re:resurrecting a '73 650 3 cyl 13 years 2 months ago #28969

• Oceans2
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
Correct!

Re:resurrecting a '73 650 3 cyl 13 years 2 months ago #28979

• MarkS