Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: motor decision advice please...

motor decision advice please... 13 years 3 months ago #28131

Trying to decide between 2 motors... both in good working condition

it would be going on my 14' gw invader drag/ski project so either has plenty of power

1963 merc 650 65hp for $450
or
mid 70's merc 70hp for $750

advice please...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:motor decision advice please... 13 years 3 months ago #28133

Either motor would push your boat nicely, my personal preference would be for the 65 hp, 1963. Thats likely driven by my youth in the 60,s. Some folks don,t like the 70 hp, I have no experience with them. Ultimately your decision.

Remember, my opinion in no way diminishes your opinion, nor yours mine. Collectively, there is a middle ground that is \\\"correct\\\" for the reader balancing all the input.

Re:motor decision advice please... 13 years 3 months ago #28135

I'm not sure if either motor mentioned has enough HP to carry the bow on the GW Invader - if it is like the one in the attached picture with an old Evinrude hanging off the transom.
But,...If it is like the smaller GW Invader - like the other one shown with a 50 hp Merc - either the 650-4 or 70-3 would be O'Plenty of HP.
Thom
Attachments:

Re:motor decision advice please... 13 years 3 months ago #28136

i prefere the 4cyl 650 over the 3cyl 70

Re:motor decision advice please... 13 years 3 months ago #28138

I would prefere the early 60's merc the black and chrome looks awsome :)

Re:motor decision advice please... 13 years 3 months ago #28141