Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: small cracks

small cracks 11 years 2 months ago #79577

I have recently become the owner of a '79 Aristocraft Nineteen. The boat was my dads and is in relatively good shape. The deck has a number of very small cracks that I would like to fill. There is not an area with many cracks as I see in many of the pictures on the forum but perhaps 30-50 cracks located around fasteners that are less than 1/4 inch long. The deck nor hull require painting as they clean up nicely. Any suggestions for filling these little cracks?
Thanks,
Ed
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: small cracks 11 years 2 months ago #79588

edcotter,

WELCOME ABOARD.

I'm sure that one of the EXPERTS here will have the solution.
(I'm NOT an expert. I'm a "putterer".)

yours, satx

Resistance to tyrants is obedience to Almighty God.
Thomas Jefferson, 1803

Re: small cracks 11 years 2 months ago #79591

Nice 19 Ed. Keeping it in the family is a great thing, IMHO.

A pix of the type of cracks you're referring to may be of help too. W/ something as a size reference in the pix too. An overhead of a cleat that might show the crack, then a closer shot that shows the cracks radiating from the fasteners, would be perfect.

An Aristocrat expert may be along shortly to confirm or correct, but I 'think' that you have a wood-free deck (floor) and wood-free stringers, so except for the transom there is very little hidden wood/plywood in your dad's boat.

In the 1 pix, it looks like it's been well maintained & kept covered. All those windows look to be intact.

Re:small cracks 11 years 2 months ago #79625

Ed,