• Page:

TOPIC: Inboard/Inboard Outboard engine mounts

Inboard/Inboard Outboard engine mounts 1 year 2 months ago #147625

• Larsspar
  • Larsspar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 17
As part of my continued desire to re-engineer the boat industry, I'm currently studying engine mounts. My boat was delivered with 4 long lag bolts screwed into the stringers, 2 port, 2 starboard. I'm considering boring the original holes larger, filling with epoxy and then fitting inserts of some sort which I can bolt the engine mounts to.

What has been successful for your projects?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Inboard/Inboard Outboard engine mounts 1 year 2 months ago #147626

You can glass in thick aluminum plate if you want and drill and tap for bolts. You can make extra long aluminum plates which can be screwed into the stringers and then drilled and tapped.
One thing you have to remember is that the stinger height is controlled by a transom jig and must be maintained at that height no matter what modifications you end up making. This Height controls shaft alignment in Mercruiser/Volvo Penta in particular. For the old Stringer mount OMC Stern drives it is not quite so critical.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Larsspar

Inboard/Inboard Outboard engine mounts 1 year 2 months ago #147630

• Larsspar
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
Thanks Pappy.

To clarify, the plate sits on top the stinger, and does not wrap around in an L-shape for instance.

I believe you're also suggesting the plate should be mortised in, so the height is not impacted?

Inboard/Inboard Outboard engine mounts 1 year 2 months ago #147631

That is correct. Your stringer height should not be altered.

Inboard/Inboard Outboard engine mounts 1 year 2 months ago #147634