Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1962 Merc 500 piston/cylinder issues

1962 Merc 500 piston/cylinder issues 1 year 6 months ago #147237

Hello, I've been working on a 1962 Merc 500 for a couple of years now when I find the time but have run the motor very little since purchasing it. I ran it last year and it did OK but the other day had a distinct lack of power. I tested the compression and found the #3 cylinder had no compression. Upon inspection I found what you see pictured. I'm only a novice mechanic and was hoping for some advice.

The piston is obviously shot and there is some local scoring on the cylinder wall that I can distinctly feel with a fingernail. Is this something that can be corrected by honing? Does it need to go to a machine shop? Will taking it down to clean metal cause too much slop between the piston & cylinder wall? Can it be re-sleeved? If so, where can I find a sleeve? Marineengine.com doesn't list a sleeve as a separate part #.

I'd appreciate any advice offered... I'd like to fully restore this motor.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1962 Merc 500 piston/cylinder issues 1 year 6 months ago #147241

• ed-mc
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 113
Many Moons ago I picked up an old 100hp that had a piston looking just like that. The rings were stuck/carboned-up. The hot exhaust burns right thru and melts the piston. I was able to clean up the cylinder and put a good used piston in it, and it ran fine.

Yours looks a bit worse, and you have a lot of melted aluminum on the cylinder walls. You'll have to carefully remove that; muriatic acid will dissolve aluminum while having no effect on the steel cylinder. But use it sparingly as it's quite powerful.