Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Motor choice for Razorback Fury

Motor choice for Razorback Fury 2 years 5 months ago #145516

I'm fairly new to vintage runaboats but recently picked up my 2nd boat, a 1964 Razorback Fury. The VIN plate has a hull# listed but no HP or passenger rating. In my limited experience I'd say the boat could use somewhere between 50-75hp. I'd prefer something a bit more modern than a period motor and preferably some form of fuel injection. I'd also consider something older but reliable and reasonably easy to get parts for.

Questions:

-the transom height is 15 1/2". The boat needs a new transom... should I extend the transom up to 20" since it seems to be much easier to find that length in that size motor?

-is the 4 1/2" difference going to cause me performance and handling issues if I purchase a 20" and install it on a 15 1/2" transom?

-are there any motors available that I should be considering that would be optimal with the 15 1/2" transom?

Thanks, Brian

File Attachment:

File Name:
File Size: 0 KB

File Attachment:

File Name:
File Size: 0 KB

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Motor choice for Razorback Fury 2 years 5 months ago #145542

Mercury Marine has a 60 hp short shaft(15").
The following user(s) said Thank You: Problem Child

Motor choice for Razorback Fury 2 years 5 months ago #145543

Sorry late to this one, but I would say a 50/60 wouled be plenty. You mostly have to worry about weight than horsepower, unless you install transom supports undr the back deck. A few folks have done that on their boats. Don't forget the 4 strokes weight more than the 2 strokes.

Bob
The following user(s) said Thank You: Problem Child

Motor choice for Razorback Fury 2 years 5 months ago #145561

bayoumerc wrote: Mercury Marine has a 60 hp short shaft(15").

Is that a current model or vintage? If vintage, do you know what the last model year was?

Thanks! Brian