TOPIC: Looking for parts for Custom Craft

Looking for parts for Custom Craft 9 years 2 months ago #112548

• mpmitri
  • mpmitri's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to this Fiberglass Boat community. I pulled this old Custom Craft boat out of the weeds and just starting the processes of making it sea (Lake) worthy again. So far I pulled all of the weeds and mud out, pulled out the carpet, took off the motor and instruments. The reason I am posting is because I am so new to this that I do not know where to find and buy any of the bits and pieces I need to make it complete. I need a windscreen for sure. I also need the rubber strip that goes around the boat which I understand is called gunwale moulding. Is there any company that makes it similar to the original? Can you recommend a good company to buy from? My next question is about all of the steel around the boat. It is naturally weathered and pitted. So do I simply buy new fixtures/lights or is there a way to recondition these. Can I "send them out" to a place that will return them good as new? :)

Well thank you for taking the time to read this and hopefully soon I will be posting in the "Member Project Forum!"

Michael
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Looking for parts for Custom Craft 9 years 2 months ago #112549

• mpmitri
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
I'm sorry everyone...I have no clue how/why it posted twice :pinch:

Re:Looking for parts for Custom Craft 9 years 2 months ago #112550

As far as the windhield goes you have a few options. 1) have a new one molded from your old one, which is pricey, I was quoted $600 for mine.
2) get some lexan and make your own from the original that you have (you can Google it for some tutorials)
3) fill the cracks in that you have with some expoxy, then use rubbing compound and a buffer to bring back the rest of the plexiglass.