Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1960 Lonestar "EL DORADO"

1960 Lonestar "EL DORADO" 12 years 1 month ago #57350

Just wondering if these boats are collectable or desirable.I can pick one up complete for almost nothing.Any thing i should look out for?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1960 Lonestar "EL DORADO" 12 years 1 month ago #57352

• MarkS
  • Thank you received: 5
IMHO, YES, grab it! The experts can help advise you on what to look for, but I think those are very cool old cruisers. Have you checked out the brochures in the Library here?;
www.fiberglassics.com/library/File:Lonestarb60006.jpg

Welcome aboard, BTW. ;)

Mark

Re:1960 Lonestar "EL DORADO" 12 years 1 month ago #57356

Thanks Mark,I have checked out the library some great info in there.I have been viewing info on fiberglassics for a few years since i got my 1958 Glastron SurFflite.Thanks again for your help.

Re:1960 Lonestar "EL DORADO" 12 years 1 month ago #57364

A few things you might take into consideration: condition of the hull (dents/gashes/loose seams), parts (what's broken, missing, needs refurbishing), what comes with the boat (motor/trailer/extra parts).

Re:1960 Lonestar "EL DORADO" 12 years 1 month ago #57498

Lone Stars are great boats. I have a '60 El Dorado myself. Very well-built, roomy cruiser. Have had 2 others as well.

Like Handy Andy said, try to ascertain if the rivets are tight and if the trailer will get you home. Mine had 8" of water in it with no drips, so I knew it would float ;) . Also check to see if the transom is solid by rapping on it with your knuckles or a small hammer. You want to hear a consistent "solid" sound throughout. Even if it's shot, don't worry. Transom (or floor) on an aluminum boat is easy to replace compared to doing one on a fiberglass boat.

I would get it if I were you! Show some pics.

Here is mine "as found".

Paul
Attachments: