• Page:

TOPIC: Look what I got for $100!!!

Look what I got for $100!!! 13 years 5 months ago #21001

• Waterwings
  • Waterwings's Avatar Topic Author
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 100
OK, I'm new to the Merc experience do to just obtaining this new toy.

The guy gave me an aluminum and brass prop as you can see. It seems to be froze up right now but once I get it on the stand I have I should be able to tilt it up and shoot some Marvel oil into each of the cylinders and let it sit for a while and see what happens.

I believe it's a 1961 800EL. The serial number is 1406104.

Don't know when it was run last, at least 5 or 6 years I think since that's when the boat it was on was registered last. It needs lots of cosmetics done to it as you can tell. The inside looks pretty clean though. Looks like a couple of bolts snapped off but should be a probelm with my easy outs.

Sorry for the long thread, just a litttle excited. I'm sure I'll be back for advice as this moves on through the winter. By the way, how are these on gas compared to my Rude Fat Fifty?

Bob
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Look what I got for $100!!! 13 years 5 months ago #21003

The 800FGS is a real smooth running Stack-6 and if you ever need any parts I have a LOT for the 800FGS including complete powerheads, etc.
Thom
Attachments:

Re:Look what I got for $100!!! 13 years 5 months ago #21004

• MarkS
  • Thank you received: 5
Congrats Bob, nice "Tower of Power"! I'd definitely check with Thom or one of the other good folks here who can help with parts and advise first, but here's a good place to look at some of the stuff on that motor;
store.eastcoastmarineservice.com/category_s/813.htm
(no such thing as too much reference material, right!?) ;)

Mark

Re:Look what I got for $100!!! 13 years 5 months ago #21008

• Waterwings
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
Mark, Great info thanks!