• Page:

TOPIC: Help with wood floor

Help with wood floor 13 years 10 months ago #8520

• Waterwings
  • Waterwings's Avatar Topic Author
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 100
Hello to all. I'm new to Fiberglassics and boat renovation. I'm assuming this is the right forum since my boat is a "transition" boat. I have a 1960 18' Wagemaker Empire Clipper. Fiberglass hull and Mahogany wood top. I'm in the midsts of varnishing the topside, the windshield and the bench seat. I want to do the floor next but I'm not sure what to do. I'm attaching a couple of pics to show her condition.

I have a couple of questions:

1. Should I completely strip the deck or can I get away with sanding, blending, priming bare spots and repainting? The old paint is chipped off as you can see and it's a hard paint. Not sure what kind was used.

2. What paint is recommended? I've heard many different things from garage floor epoxy paint to Acrylic Latex porch paint. What works best and will last the longest. I will need to do the hull insides also since they're painted the same as the deck and the paint has yellowed from age, stains etc.

Thanks,
Bob
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Help with wood floor 13 years 10 months ago #8534

• Andgott
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 0
I love those old 'transitional' boats, with the wood decks... Post some photos!

Remember when you paint that your paint job is only as good as your prep job- if the paint is in bad shape, then you won't get a good topcoat on it, no matter what you do. I just repainted the interior of the hull on my Glasspar, and the old paint was in pretty sad shape... I ended up going all the way down to bare 'glass, priming, and painting. It was a LOT of work, but turned out great, and I think well worth the trouble.