Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Red Fish Floor Replace-help

Red Fish Floor Replace-help 13 years 11 months ago #7721

I started taking out the floor in my Red Fish and under the fiberglass cover is a solid wood floor. It appears to be mahogany and it is laid up in 2" strips about 16" to 6" in length, butted end to end and edge to edge and then covered with about 1/8" fiberglass. Only the tunnel in the center isn't wood. And every piece is as soft and soggy as balsa wood. I was thinking of using mahogany in 2" strips laid 2" or less apart. I would epoxy them in place and then use roving or heavy matting to cover them, also using epoxy. The space between the strips would allow the matting and epoxy to stick to the floor. This actually seems like it would be better than the original but I have never done this. Does anyone have an opinion on this plan? I am new to this and always open to a better idea.
Thanks in advance, Mike.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Red Fish Floor Replace-help 13 years 11 months ago #7740

Mike,
Your boat has no subfloor or stringers right? Just the wood sandwiched between the main hull and a layer of glass? Most of the Redfish boats used a balsa core floor sandwiched in a layer of glass instead of a stringer and subfloor setup. I'm pretty sure if you try to go back with mahogany you're going to have a severe weight difference which may cause problems. Someone else will chime in soon I'm sure. BTW, what model is your redfish and can you post some pics?

Doug

Some people are like slinkies... Not much good for anything, but they sure are fun to push down the stairs.

Re:Red Fish Floor Replace-help 13 years 11 months ago #7744