Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1968 fabuglas question

1968 fabuglas question 13 years 8 months ago #14257

Hi I am new to old boat ownership, I just purchased a 1968 fabuglas tempest and it has had some "updating" done to it, I was wondering if originally these had a built in fuel tank or if they used portable tanks, the person who remodeled the boat put a 30 gallon tank under the front seats and I am experincing quite a bit of fuel slosh, I want to take it out and relocate a tank somewhere else, any suggestions?

I am also going to have to do a transom replacment at some point and I am anxiously awaiting the section in restoration on that. Has anyone done a transom replacment on a fabuglas here and if so what is the best way to approach it.

Thanks in advance
Mike

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1968 fabuglas question 13 years 8 months ago #14259

trucknstuffmike wrote:

Hi I am new to old boat ownership, I just purchased a 1968 fabuglas tempest and it has had some "updating" done to it, I was wondering if originally these had a built in fuel tank or if they used portable tanks, the person who remodeled the boat put a 30 gallon tank under the front seats and I am experincing quite a bit of fuel slosh, I want to take it out and relocate a tank somewhere else, any suggestions?

There is a 1968 Fabuglas Brochure in the Glassic Library on this site:
www.fiberglassics.com/library/Fabuglas
Here's your boat:
www.fiberglassics.com/library/File:Fabuglasb68012.jpg

I am in the middle of "rebuilding" a 1969 Fabuglas Cruiser. I put a 12 Gallon belly tank under the rear splashwell/seat. #0 gallons is alot of fuel in a big tank. Your trouble will be that these tanks aren't baffled. They are just wide-open, so sloshing is inherent to the design. I don't think I'd want 30 gallons at the transom either...