Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Best way to shine paint

Best way to shine paint 13 years 8 months ago #12880

im a poor student who would love to poor thousands of dollars in his boat, but unfortunately i cant. so, i would love to hear your advice on the cheapest way to revive old gel coat paint.

My paint isnt bad, but i either have to wax it every time or put rubbing compound on it every other month to get it to shine.

Also, is rubbing compound bad for your paint?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Best way to shine paint 13 years 8 months ago #12882

Are you asking about gel coat or paint?

Frank

Re:Best way to shine paint 13 years 8 months ago #12884

i think its gel coat, my bad....i really dont know the difference.

Re:Best way to shine paint 13 years 8 months ago #12887

Assuming your gel coat it thick enough id recommend paint polishing in this order...

1. 1500 wet sanding...just enough to remove any heavy oxidation...go slow and be careful not to burn through the gel coat

2. Compounding with medium cut rubbing compound and a dual action polisher with a compound pad...just enough to remove sanding scratches

3. Light cut Polish with dual action polisher with a light cut pad...this step is what gives you the deep shine and gloss

4. Hand applied, quality liquid wax...wax is merely a protective coating and has no "cut"

Assuming you keep the boat clean and covered, all you should have to do to maintain the finish is wax approximately every 6 months. Ive done a couple boats with this process and they came out looking VERY sharp and with a little preventative maintenance, will stay looking good for many years to come.

Re:Best way to shine paint 13 years 8 months ago #12892

JerrfyLube your the best man, but i got a couple junior questions for you like always:)