Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Fiberglass-Deck Off the Hull, Restoration Any Boat

Fiberglass-Deck Off the Hull, Restoration Any Boat 7 years 1 month ago #130225

• Z28500
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
A few years ago I restored a 1972 Glastron GT-150. Now the reason I started this thread is because back in the late 1970’s to 1980’s I built boats for a living. I was actually in charge of the fiberglass end of it. We would pop the deck and hull out of the mold and sometimes when that happened, there would be imperfections like alligatoring and then we would repair that also. Well, a couple weeks ago I saw on here somewhere that someone was doing a deck off restoration, new stringers, transom, etc. on a GT-150 I think it was. He showed pictures of glassing the stringers in. That is not so bad. But when the plywood or sheet fiberglass floor is glassed in, I have noticed on several sites, a pretty big mistake being made when it comes to squaring up the hull. When a hull is built up in a factory, it is in the mold. It is not twisted, widened, or even elongated. There comes the mistake. When glassing in the stringers, then after it drys, the hull sets in a shape different than it was originally when it came out of the factory mold. When glassing in the floor, it is very important to first measure the width of the deck and match it to the hull. That is easy, you can just tape some thin strips of 1x2, or any wood for that matter to keep the hull from widening. If a mistake is made in the width, the hull can be squeezed together or even pulled apart (Apart is harder) when putting the deck onto the hull. The next part is more important. When a hull is out of square or “twisted”, it cannot squared back up after the glass dries and when the deck is “affixed” usually by rivets or screws, the hull will stay twisted after the boat is all put back together. However, unless it is really bad, many times the owner will not even notice