Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: New 2 Me 1957 Mercury Mark75 Where should I start?

New 2 Me 1957 Mercury Mark75 Where should I start? 7 years 8 months ago #124056

Hi all!

I have a 1957 Mercury Mark 75 Marathon Six that came with a Tomahawk boat that I purchased last week. The boat and motor have been in storage for the last 20 or so years, but, according to the previous owner, ran well before put in to storage. I was wondering where should I start this restoration? I went out and bought a new battery and spark plugs today. I am waiting on a friend to sell me his gas tank. My plan was to pour some mystery oil down the spark plug holes and try to fire it up.

Can I use muffs to run this out of water or do I have to put it in a barrel of water? I didn't see any inlets so I'm assuming barrel.

Also, what are some essentials for working on this motor? I've only worked on cars before so I'm a complete novice on marine motors.

Any help and tips are welcome! Thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: New 2 Me 1957 Mercury Mark75 Where should I start? 7 years 8 months ago #124063

The first thing everyone told me to do on my engine which had only been sitting for four years was to change the water pump impeller. That's where I started. If it's seized up I've freed bike motors by shooting WD-40 into the plug holes and let it sit for a couple days. If that doesn't do it there's gonna be some pain. Good luck with it.

Damn the torpedoes, full steam ahead !

Re: New 2 Me 1957 Mercury Mark75 Where should I start? 7 years 8 months ago #124069

It's definitely not seized. I can turn the propeller with ease and see the pistons moving up and down. Putting the mystery oil in it only made that easier. The impeller is located in the lower unit, correct? I think I found one for sale on oldmerc.com; would you recommend anywhere else I can look to buy one? Thanks for your reply.