Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: transom repair material?

transom repair material? 6 years 6 days ago #135955

Has anyone worked with a pourable compound to fill the space where removed rotten wood leaves a hollow between the inner and outer fiberglass walls? I see Seacast on youtube, and now this Arjay pourable ceramic polyester compound, with exothermic temperature control. It doesn't get so hot that it cracks, it is light weight, $50/gal which would fill a 30x24x1.5 in cavity... the website says it is used extensively to restore plywood transoms . .. Anybody have any experience with this stuff?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

transom repair material? 5 years 11 months ago #136073

well i havent used the new stuff, i used seacast . i was very scared because i t was a little pricey and if i screwed up all was lost. but i studied up on it, and the guy at seacast was always right there . walked me through a couple of dry runs i memorized the instruction sheet haha and it worked just as advertised you mix the fiber with the mix make a trough and pour it rubber hammer the bubbles out. and let it set. it bonds to itself . easy to work with i looked at nidabond but i kept coming back to seacast. make sure you clean the inside of the skins real good get as much wood off as you can and rough it up with a little sandpaper and clean it real good i drilled holes in the top of the deck and used a gallon milk jug cut off to pour for the wings . then cleaned up. the heat really wasn't a problem it got warm but not what i would say hot to the touch. like concrete now. oh and make sure to keep the integrity of the transom the way you want it. when you start there wont be any time to make adjustments

transom repair material? 5 years 11 months ago #136083

• Eric Z
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 19