Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Evinrude Lark 40 - Low Compression

Evinrude Lark 40 - Low Compression 7 years 1 month ago #130593

Hello Braintrust- I've had the 1957 Erie with a 1960 Evinrude Lark 40 for 6-9 months,... and yet to put it in the water. I did change the plugs and impeller already, so I'm good there. In the water tank run it wouldn't idle well, but I could bump it in gear and run it up fine. I took it to a local shade-tree guy with a good reputation and skillset.

He said one cylinder is down at 60psi, rather than the nominal 120, but even operable 80 psi. When asked about a price to put it right he said it would be $800-$1,000. Sounding a bit steep to me, I think I want to try to attack pulling the head and cylinder to change out the piston(s) as required. I'm a previous life I was a fighter jet mechanic, and also dirt bike guy. Any reason I shouldn't take on the task of the piston/ring change? Parts look like they are available on;
Any advice eagerly requested. marineengine.com

Thx in advance - Tim

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Evinrude Lark 40 - Low Compression 7 years 1 month ago #130603

• ed-mc
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 113
It's possible you have a blown head gasket. But with 60 psi, more likely is a scored cylinder or ring problems. Usually you'll get a very low value or Zero psi with a blown head gasket.

I'd recommend pulling the cylinder head for inspection. You can pull the head without removing the entire block (powerhead).

If you see anything wrong with the sealing surfaces of the head, you may have found the problem. The head can be resurfaced flat again.

If there's a problem with the block sealing surface, it's usually terminal. Not uncommon to see the cast aluminum block separate from the steel cylinder sleeve. The aluminum overlaps the top of the sleeve and if it's cracked or chunks missing, the block's a scrapper.