Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Prop Spec for Merc 75 HP on G3

Prop Spec for Merc 75 HP on G3 6 years 8 months ago #132563

I recently purchased a '92 Mercury 75 HP for my '60 center deck that came with a 13.5 x 15 prop . I don't know what type of boat the engine was on last, but this seems like a huge prop for the G3. That said, I don't really know how to size a prop for my boat and would appreciate opinions/tips from those who do and have experience. I will appreciate the suggestions.

Doug

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Prop Spec for Merc 75 HP on G3 6 years 8 months ago #132567

I am no expert on props for outboard motors but can tell you that I have a 1960 G-3 with a newer 2009 "Mercury 50 HP"
Outboard and I currently have a 15" prop on it. I had tried a 17" but it doesn't seem to take off as well. However, with the 15, when I am at "full throttle" I am very close to the max RPM of the engine which is 5500. I hope that helps you some Sir.

Prop Spec for Merc 75 HP on G3 6 years 8 months ago #132570

I found this link to be helpful when I was trying to understand sizes for my old boat. Maybe it could give you some insight.

legacy.qsprops.com/prop-selector/#

Prop Spec for Merc 75 HP on G3 6 years 8 months ago #132661

Hello,